Tuesday, 27 August 2013

DVD Review - Regular Show: Fright Pack

Regular Show: Fright Pack
Voice Actors: J. G. Quintel, William Salyers, Sam Marin, Mark Hamill, Roger Craig Smith, Janie Haddad-Tompkins
Studio: Cartoon Network/ Warner Bros. Home Entertanment
Release Date: Sept. 3, 2013
Retail: $19.82
Running Time: 176 minutes
Rating: TV-PG


The Emmy Award-winning animated comedy Regular Show is coming out with its fifth DVD titled Regular Show: Fright Pack containing 14 spine-tingling episodes on September 3, 2013 starting with the 2 two-part episodes, Terror Tales of the Park and Terror Tales of the Park II. The DVD is making its way into store just in time for Halloween, which is only two months away. There is a villain character guide as the special feature.

Since its premiere in 2010, the Regular Show has been a ratings hit for the Cartoon Network, bring in both young and adult viewers, who all like the show's the snappy dialogue and off-the-wall comedy. The series features best friends Mordecai (a six-foot-tall blue jay) and Rigby (a hyperactive raccoon), who both work as groundskeepers at a park, which is owned by Pops (he looks like a lollipop). The two best friends are bored to death at their job and they try to do anything to avoid doing their work, which doesn't go over too well their boss Benson (a gumball machine). The new episodes currently air on Mondays at 8 p.m. ET/PT on Cartoon Network.

The episodes on the Fright Pack single-disc DVD are:

  1. Terror Tales of the Park (2-part episode)
  2. Terror Tales of the Park II (2-part episodes)
  3. Dead at Eight
  4. Jinx
  5. Grave Sights
  6. Ello Gov'nor
  7. Death Bear
  8. Skunked
  9. See You There
  10. Meat Your Maker
  11. The Best VHS in the World
  12. Dizzy
  13. Last Meal
  14. Skips' Stress

The DVD starts out with the 22-minute Terror Tales of the Park featuring three stories "Creepy Doll," "Death Metal Crash Pit," and "In the House," where Mordecai, Rigby and the rest of the groundskeepers are telling scary stories. Terror Tale of the Park II follows a similar plot, but this time the gang are telling scary stories ("Payback," "Party Bus," and "Wallpaper Man") while on their way to a Halloween Party. The other twelve stories are 11 minutes in length with crazy horror related plots, such as babysitting Death's child, stopping Rigby's jinx, fighting off zombies, Rigby stalked by a haunted British cab, taking a picture of a killer bear, Rigby turning into a skunk, Mordecai and Rigby dying to get into a party, hungry hot dogs, a strange creature in the wall, a dizzy world, a hot dog eating contest against Death, and a stressful Skip.

Though I had heard of the series before, I had never actually watched it until I reviewed Fright Pack. The odd animation style has never been my thing, so I always switch the channel. I guess I shouldn't judge a book by its cover as I laughed through ever outrageous episode on the Regular Show: Fright Pack! After a few episodes, I wondered why I had never watched the series before as it reminds me of the early years of Futurama (when it was funny). Both Terror Tales of the Park episodes reminds me of The Simpsons' Treehouse of Horror, but only better written. Despite some mild cartoon violence, I recommend Regular Show: Fright Pack to kids and adults.

*Disclaimer - I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments from my readers! However, I will delete all spam and irrelevant comments.

*Note - I reserve the right to remove comments from the blog. Please leave comments that are useful and respectful.