Thursday, 12 May 2016

DVD Review - Power Rangers Wild Force: The Complete Series

TV-Y7; 870 minutes; $19.97; Amazon; Shout! Factory
Now available on DVD from Shout! Factory is Power Rangers Wild Force: The Complete Series, a 5-disc set featuring all 40 episodes. There are no special features or bonus extras.

"Wild Force" is the 10th season of the Power Rangers franchise. It borrows costumes, monsters, zords and action scenes from the Japanese Super Sentai series Hyakujuu Sentai Gaoranger. The first half of the season aired on Fox Kids before Saban sold the franchise to Disney. The second half aired on ABC Family and was produced by BSV Entertainment (Disney/ABC-Television Group).

Originally airing in 2002, "Wild Force" centered Cole Evans (played by Ricardo Medina, Jr.), a young man who had spent several years living in the jungle. He leaves his tribe and makes his way to the small town of Turtle Cove. There he finds the Animarium, a magical flying island, where he accepts his destiny as the Red Wild Force Ranger.

Along with Taylor, the Yellow Ranger (played by Alyson Kiperman), Maxwell, the Blue Ranger (played by Phillip Jeanmarie), Alyssa, the White Ranger (played by Jessica Rey) and Daniel, the Black Ranger (played by Jack Guzman), Cole must lead the Rangers against the deadly Master Org and his army of minions, in the attempt to protect Animarium. A sixth ranger, Lunar Wolf Ranger (played by Phillip Andrew) was added the cast towards the middle of the season.

While "Wild Force" received mixed-reaction from fans, the season did mark the 10th Anniversary of the franchise, which was celebrated in the "Forever Red" episode. All the previous red rangers returned to help the Red Wild Force Ranger stop the Machine Army from digging up Lord Zedd's zord, Serpentera, which was buried on the moon.

Final Thoughts: While the "Wild Force" season is really campy (even by Power Rangers standards), it's still kind of fun to watch, but unfortunately it suffers for being stuck in between the fan favorite seasons "Time Force" and "Ninja Storm."

The "Wild Force" season was previously released in the Power Rangers: Season 8-12 box set that released by Shout! Factory in 2013. The individual release is the exact same 5-disc set, minus the bonus disc that was exclusive to box set.

Overall, Power Rangers Wild Force: The Complete Series is a must-have for any Power Rangers, young or old. The retail price is less than $20, which is pretty cheap for 40 episodes.

*Disclaimer - I received complimentary copy in exchange for my unbiased review. All opinions are my own.

No comments:

Post a comment

I love comments from my readers! However, I will delete all spam and irrelevant comments.

*Note - I reserve the right to remove comments from the blog. Please leave comments that are useful and respectful.