Tuesday, 20 May 2014

Review: Drone Strike by Dale Brown & Jim DeFelice

*This is a sponsored review. All opinions are 100% mine.

“…Brown and DeFelice are at the top of their game…The pages fly by as fast as the quicksilver drones while Turk faces one exciting, life-threatening complication after another.” – STARRED review, Publisher’s Weekly

Authors Dale Brown and Jim DeFelice have returned with the fifteenth entry in the Dreamland aviation thriller series, titled Drone Strike. Dreamland is a top-secret government base in Nevada, where new advanced weapons, vehicles and planes are developed, including drones.

Drone Strike centers on U.S. Air Force test pilot, Captain Turk Mako, who is assigned to the new "Hyrda" drones (unmanned aerial vehicles) program. These drones are small, near the size of a desktop calculator, but in the shape of a lawn dart. These drones are future of the the Air Force.

Iran's nuclear efforts have moved forward, leading the U.S. government to take action by letting Captain Mako send out his drones in the attempt to stop Iran's attack. He is sent to Iran along with a Delta Force team to locate and destroy a hidden underground nuclear facility.

I have to admit that this is the first novel I have read by author Dan Brown, though I was well aware of his works, but I'm not the biggest fan of these types of thrillers. That being said, when I was offered to review a free ebook copy for participating in this blog tour, I jumped at the chance to try a Dan Brown novel. Drone Strike is an intriguing, realistic thriller page-turner from start to finish. I can see why the Dreamland series is so popular. Overall, I thought Drone Strike was a well-written techno-thriller and I recommend it others.

About the Authors: 

Dale Brown is the author of numerous New York Times bestsellers, starting with Flight of the Old Dog in 1987, and most recently Tiger’s Claw. A former U.S. Air Force captain, he can often be found flying his own plane over the skies of Nevada.

Jim DeFelice is the co-author of the #1 New York Times bestseller American Sniper, as well as the New York Times bestseller Code Name: Johnny Walker. DeFelice is the author of Omar Bradley: General at War, the first in-depth critical biography of America’s last five-star general. He also writes a number of acclaimed military thrillers, including the Rogue Warrior series from Richard Marcinko, founder of SEAL Team 6, as well as the Dreamland series.

No comments:

Post a comment

I love comments from my readers! However, I will delete all spam and irrelevant comments.

*Note - I reserve the right to remove comments from the blog. Please leave comments that are useful and respectful.