Thursday, 1 May 2014

DVD Review - Transformers: Energon: The Complete Series

Transformers: Energon: The Complete Series
Studio: Shout! Factory
Release Date: May 6, 2014
Retail: $44.99
Running Time: 1167 minutes
Rating: Not Rated


The Transformers franchise is expanding this year with the fourth Michael Bay feature film, Transformers: Age of Extinction, and the untitled, brand-new animated series. Until then fans will have to settle on the Shout! Factory's seven-disc DVD set of Transformers: Energon: The Complete Series, featuring all 51 episodes.

Transformers: Energon is a Japanese computer-generated animated that aired during the 2004-2005 season and is set ten years after Transformers: Armada. There has been peace between the Autobots and Decepticons ever since the deaths of Megatron and Unicron, but a new evil is about to the unleashed upon Cybertron.

The mysterious Alpha Q releases the Terrorcons on the Autobots' Cybertron cities, which the little terror bots are collecting Energons. Alpha Q creates a new robot called Scorponok, who will gather all the remaining Decepticons on Earth and lead a new army against the Autobots. Of course Megatron is resurrected (again) and has his own agenda against the Autobots.

To battle this new threat, Optimus Prime and the rest of the Autobots must once again use the help from the humans to defeat this new threat.

The episodes on the seven-disc set are:
  • Season One - Disc One: 
    • Cybertron City
    • Energon Stars
    • Scorpinok
    • Megatron's Sword
    • The New Cybertron City
    • Megatron Resurrection
    • Megatron Raid
  • Season One - Disc Two:
    • Starscream the Mysterious
    • Mercenary
    • Battle Of The Asteroid Belt
    • Energon Tower
    • The Legend of Rodimus
    • Crisis in Jungle City
    • Kicker Beware!
  • Season Two - Disc One:
    • Energon Grid
    • Rodimus Friend or Foe?
    • Go For Unicron!
    • The Return of Demolisher
    • A Tale of Two Heroes
    • Battle Stations
    • Alpha Q: Idenity
    • Laser Wave: Rampage
  • Season Two - Disc Two:
    • Survival Instincts
    • Each One Fights...
    • Unicron Unleashed
    • Open Fire!
    • Ripped Up Space
    • Team Optimus Prime
    • Protection
    • Imprisoned Inferno 
  • Season Two - Disc Three:
    • Jungle Planet
    • Bulkhead
    • Farewell Inferno
    • Crash Course
    • Omega Supreme
    • A Heroic Battle
    • The Power 
  • Season Two - Disc Four: 
    • Optimus Supreme
    • Unicron Perishes
    • Ambition
    • Wishes
    • Galvatron!
    • Break Through
    • Distribution
    • The Omega Train
  • Season Two: Disc Five:
    • Decepticon Army
    • Ironhide Team
    • Formidable
    • Galvatron Terror
    • Destructive Power
    • Spark
    • The Sun
Shout! Factory does an excellent job releasing complete sets of television series, especially cartoons and other children series. Though there aren't any extras or special features on this set, it is still a pretty impressive DVD set. However, I would like to point out that episode 45, Decepticon Army, is misspelled on the inside DVD Jacket and on the fifth disc of season two, as it reads"Deception Army." I realize the series originally received a mix-reaction from diehard fans, as they mostly criticized the use of CG. In my humble opinion, the animation style and character designs are a major improvement over Transformers: Armada. Transformers: Energon: The Complete Series may not be exactly perfect, but the episodes are still fun to watch.

*Disclaimer - I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

No comments:

Post a comment

I love comments from my readers! However, I will delete all spam and irrelevant comments.

*Note - I reserve the right to remove comments from the blog. Please leave comments that are useful and respectful.