Monday, April 29, 2013

Music Review - Shake It Up: I 3 Dance Soundtrack

Shake It Up: I <3 Dance Soundtrack
Studio: Walt Disney Records
Release Date: March 5, 2013
Buy Link: Amazon


I've been a music lover since I was a kid, liking a wide variety of artists and styles, ranging from folk music to gothic rock, and the occasional soundtrack. Recently, I got a chance to review the newest soundtrack from the Disney Channel's hit series Shake It Up titled I <3 Dance, which I received free of charge in exchange for my honest review. From time to time, I have run across the series and watched a few episodes, but I was unaware that Selena Gomez sang the Shake It Up Theme Song.

The soundtrack features many Disney Channel's stars, including Selena Gomez singing the theme), Zendaya (from Shake It Up and currently on Dancing with the Stars), Bella Thorne (Shake It Up), Caroline Sunshine (Shake It Up), Roshon Fegan (Shake It Up), Coco Jones (Let It Shine), Olivia Holt (Kickin' It), and Bridgit Mendler (Good Luck, Charlie), along with the McClain Sisters, Dove Cameron, and Y.LA.

The songs featured on this release are:

1. Constagious Love (Zendaya and Bella Thorne)
2. This is My Dance Floor (Bella Thorne and Zendaya)
3. Beat of My Drum (Zendaya)
4. Blow the System (Bella Thorne)
5. Afterparty (Roshon Fegan and Caroline Sunshine)
6. Holla At the DJ (The DJ Mike D REMIX) (Coco Jones)
7. These Boots Are Made For Walkin' (Olivia Holt)
8. Sharp as a Razor (McClain Sister)
9. Future Sounds Like Us (Dove Cameron)
10. I Can Do Better (Y.LA)
11. Shake It Up Theme Song (Cole Plante Reboot REMIX) (Selena Gomez)
12. We're Dancing (Alex Ghenea 3.0 Remix) (Bridgit Mendler)

Dancing music isn't my favorite genre, but the songs on I <3 Dance are cute with catchy lyrics. I've never listen to the first two soundtracks from the series, so I won't be comparing the third to them. The music is aimed for teens, but adults (like me) can enjoy the music too. My favorites from the release are This is My Dance Floor, Beat of My Drum, Sharp As a Razor and We’re Dancing.

Summer is just around the corner and I <3 Dance would be a great soundtrack to listen to on those long family vacation road trips!

Overall, I think I <3 Dance is impressive album that both kids and adults will enjoy listening to.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I adore reading reader feedback! I will, however, remove all spam and pointless comments.

Please take note that I have the right to delete comments from this site. Please only post constructive and respectful feedback.