Friday, 8 December 2017

Holiday Gift Guide: “The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories” by Charlaine Harris

The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories
by Charlaine Harris




Where to Purchase


For the first time together in one volume, the complete short story collection starring Sookie Stackhouse—with a new introduction from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the series, Charlaine Harris. 

About the Author

Charlaine Harris is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse and Midnight, Texas, fantasy/mystery series and the Aurora Teagarden, Harper Connelly, and Lily Bard mystery series. Her books inspired HBO's True Blood, NBC's Midnight, Texas and the Aurora Teagarden movies for Hallmark Movies & Mysteries. She has lived in the South her entire life.

My Thoughts

I thought the Sookie Stackhouse book series was official done with, well, until I heard about this year's release, titled "The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories" by Charlaine Harris. The collection features all the short stories set in the Sookie Stackhouse world, which have all been previously published in several anthologies.

The stories in the collection are:

Fairy Dust - Set after the novel "Dead to the World," the story centers around the fairies Claudine, Claude, and Claudette and their strip club.
Dracula Night -Set after the novel "Dead to the World," the story centers on Eric Northman having a birthday party for the Lord of the Darkness, Dracula, at the vampire night club Fangtasia.

One Word Answer - Set after the novel "Dead as a Doornail," the story introduces Sookie's cousin Hadley to the series.

Lucky - Set after the novel "All Together Dead," the story centers on Sookie teaming up with the witch Amelia to find out who is trying to sabotage Greg Aubert's insurance business.

Gift Wrap - Set after the novel "From Dead to Worse," this creepy tale centers on Sookie being alone on Christmas Eve, well, until she helps out a stranded traveler.

Two Blondes - Set after the novel "Dead and Gone," the story centers on Sookie and the vampire Pam taking a road trip together.

Small-Town Wedding - Set after the novel "Dead in the Family," the novella centers on Sookie masquerading as her boss's girlfriend at a family wedding.

If I Had a Hammer - Set before the novel "Dead Ever After," the ghost story centers around Sam (aka, Sookie's boss) helping Tara and JB du Rone with a home-improvement project.

Playing Possum - Set after the novel "Dead Ever After," the story centers on Sookie bringing cupcakes to her nephew Hunter's classroom, but is caught up in a scary situation when a psychopath brings a gun into the school.

In the Blue Hereafter - Set after "Playing Possum," the story is told from the point-of-view of Manfred Bernardo (a character from the Midnight, Texas series), who stops by Bon Temps, Louisiana and interacts with Sookie Stackhouse.

Overall, I enjoyed reading The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories. It's nice to have all the short stories in one volume, instead of having to buy 10 separate anthologies. My favorite stories from the collection are If I had a Hammer, Two Blondes, Playing Possum, and Dracula Night. The book is a must-have for an Sookie Stackhouse or True Blood fan!

*Note - I received a complimentary copy from the publisher.  All opinions are my own.

No comments:

Post a comment

I love comments from my readers! However, I will delete all spam and irrelevant comments.

*Note - I reserve the right to remove comments from the blog. Please leave comments that are useful and respectful.