Monday, May 22, 2017

Music Review & Giveaway: MANDISA: OUT OF THE DARK (Deluxe Edition)

Purchase Link
Now available from Sparrow Records (a CMG Label Group) is the fifth album from the Christian artist Mandisa, titled Out Of The Dark.

It's been four years since Mandisa's last album, Overcomer, was released. One of the songs from the album, also titled Overcomer, was written to encourage her close friend Kisha, who was fighting breast cancer. Sadly, Kisha passed away in 2014.

Due to her friend's death, Mandisa fell into a deep depression for close to 3 years. During this time, she shut out her friends, family, and the rest of the world. With God's help, she was able to overcome her depression. The songs on Out Of The Dark were written, so Mandisa can sure her story with her fans.

Out Of The Dark is available to buy in a standard or deluxe edition. The deluxe edition contains 3 additional songs.

The tracks on the album are:

1. Voicemail Intro
2. I'm Still Here
3. Out Of The Dark
4. Unfinished
5. Bleed The Same Intro (featuring Kirk Franklin)
6. Bleed The Same (featuring TobyMac and Kirk Franklin)
7. Comeback Kid
8. What You're Worth (featuring Britt Nicole)
9. Dear John Praise Report
10. Good News
11. Prove Me Wrong
12. Mothdisa Interlude
13. The One He Speaks Through
14. Shine
15. My First Love (featuring Jeremy Camp)

Bonus Content:
16. Shame Off
17. Keep Getting Up
18. Back To Life

Final Thoughts: I've been listening to several spiritual and uplifting music artist this year, which is one of the reasons why I wanted to review Out Of The Dark. I remember seeing Mandisa as a contestant on an earlier season American Idol, but I've never listened to one of her albums before. I was surprised that all the songs aren't exactly gospel music. Yes, there's a theme of strengthening your faith, but it never once felt like an traditional spiritual album to me.

What the album does offer is several upbeat songs with arrangements that somewhat reminds me of the music from the late 1980s and early 1990s. All of the songs have catchy tunes to them. My favorite tracks from the album are Bleed The Same, Prove Me Wrong, The One He Speaks Through, I'm Still Here, and My First Love.

Overall, I've enjoyed listening to Mandisa: Out Of The Dark. Mandisa has a beautiful, strong voice that shines bright in every song on the album.

* I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

Giveaway Details

Mandisa: Out Of The Dark CD
1 Winner
USA Address Only
Giveaway Ends May 31!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

“Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller /FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days on the same blog, you are not eligible to win. Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

I adore reading reader feedback! I will, however, remove all spam and pointless comments.

Please take note that I have the right to delete comments from this site. Please only post constructive and respectful feedback.