Sunday, 27 July 2014

Review - The Berenstain Bears': God Shows The Way

Summer is nearly over, well at least for the kids that are heading back to school; meaning kids will be having the dreaded homework assignments, including book reports. I know some kids may think reading is boring, as they would probably rather be playing a video game, but reading can be a joyful experience when you find that one perfect title to read. Therefore, I am going to be featuring a few Back to School Reads on here.


Arriving in bookstores on August 5th is the 3-books-in-1, The Berenstain Bears': God Shows The Way (978-0310742111), which is part of the Zonderkidz I Can Read! series.

The Berenstain Bears' book series was first published in 1962, written by the husband and wife duo, Stan & Jan Berenstain. Since then over 260 million copies have been sold around the world. Sadly, both authors have now passed away, but their son, Mike, has took over their work by writing and illustrating more titles.

The Berenstain Bears': God Shows The Way features three previously released titles that have been rewritten with a Christian theme.

Faith Get Us Through was originally published as Lost in a Cave under the "Cub Club" series in 1994. The story centers on Papa Bear leading the Bear Scouts (Brother, Sister, Lizzy, and Cousin Freddy) into a cave, so they can earn their Cave Adventures Merit Badge, but after a wrong turn they become lost in the cave.

Do Not Fear, God Is Near was originally published as And the Spook Shadows under the "Cub Club" series in 1992. Sister Bear use to be scared of almost anything but Papa Bear taught her that trusting God will take away all of her fears. This works for all of her fears except for one - her own shadow and Brother Bear keeps teasing her about it.

Piggy Bank Blessing was originally published as the Broken Piggy Bank under the "Club Club" series in 1992. Brother and Sister Bear have a bad habit of expecting to get any toy that they want when they go shopping. Mama Bear wants to teach them a lesson by giving them a piggy bank and if they want to buy something special, then they have to save up the money to buy it.

I grew up reading The Berenstain Bears' books, collecting almost all of the "First Time Books" that is until I let some relatives borrow them and I never saw the books again. Though over the years I have recollected the books by purchasing  them at thrift stores. The three books featured in God Shows The Way have been retitled and rewritten to fit in with a Christian theme. Despite being twenty-years-old, the stories are still relevant to kids today, showing kids the importance of manners, family values, saving money and having faith in the Lord. Overall, The Berenstain Bears': God Shows The Way is an adorable books for kids and I highly recommend it to others.

*Disclaimer - I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own. 

About the Authors:

Stan and Jan Berenstain introduced the first Berenstain Bear books in 1962. Mike Berenstain grew up watching his parents work together to write about and draw these lovable bears. Eventually he started drawing and writing about them too.  Though Stan died in 2005, and Jan in 2012, Mike continues to create the delightful Bear adventures from their studio in Pennsylvania, in an area that looks much like the sunny dirt road deep in Bear Country.

No comments:

Post a comment

I love comments from my readers! However, I will delete all spam and irrelevant comments.

*Note - I reserve the right to remove comments from the blog. Please leave comments that are useful and respectful.