Saturday, 1 March 2014

Review - Where Courage Calls

Where Courage Calls
By Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan
Publisher: Bethany House
Pub. Date: February 4, 2014
ISBN: 978-0764212314
Pages: 336
Buy Link:
Blog Tour:


Author Janette Oke's novels cross my radar after I watched the TV-movie Love Comes Softly on the Hallmark Channel back in 2003. I ended up buying all the books on eBay, including the spinoff  Prairie Legacy books. Over the years, I have picked up a few other novels by the author. I was pleasantly surprised and excited to hear about her new novel Where Courage Calls, which she co-writes with daughter, Laurel Oke Logan.

Where Courage Calls is the seventh novel in the Canadian West series, written fourteen years after the sixth novel, When Tomorrow Comes. The first book in the series, When Calls the Heart, was turned into a TV-movie on the Hallmark Channel, followed by a weekly series.

Where Courage Calls was written as a companion story to the new series, which centers on Beth Thatcher as she leaves the life that she has always known and travels to western Canada for a teaching position, following in the footsteps of her aunt Elizabeth (main character from When Calls the Heart).

Settling in Coal Valley isn't as easy as she expected to be, as there was a mining accident that took the lives of several works and the town isn't quite over it. To make matters worse, there isn't a proper schoolhouse. Her students have had a very poor education. Most of the locals don't even speak English, including a few of her students.

Beth has more than enough challenges to deal with, including two men whom are both pining over her.

Its been awhile since I have read the first book in the series, but Where Courage Calls follows the same basic plot, but only with new main character (though they are related). The young schoolteacher traveling to a small town to teach has been done to death in Christian novels, but the authors ignored all the typical cliches and wrote an intriguing story with likeable characters. Will this be the final book in the series? I hope not, as I enjoy Janette Oke's storytelling.

*Disclaimer - I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

Enter Today | 2/17 - 3/4!
Janette Oke Where Courage Calls

About the Author:

Janette Oke Celebrated for her significant contribution to the Christian book industry, Janette Oke is the recipient of numerous awards. Her novels have sold more than 30 million copies and are beloved by readers around the world. Janette lives with her husband, Edward, in Alberta, Canada.

Laurel Oke Logan is the daughter of Edward and Janette Oke, is the author of "Janette Oke: A Heart for the Prairie," as well as the novel "Dana's Valley," which she co-wrote with her mom. Laurel and her husband have six children and two sons-in-law and live near Indianapolis, Indiana.

No comments:

Post a comment

I love comments from my readers! However, I will delete all spam and irrelevant comments.

*Note - I reserve the right to remove comments from the blog. Please leave comments that are useful and respectful.