Monday, September 17, 2018

Music Review: Tori Kelly: Hiding Place

Schoolboy Records & Capitol Records; 36 mins 50 secs; Buy Link

Now available from Schoolboy Records & Capital Records is the second album from singer Tori Kelly, titled "Hiding Place," which features eight Gospel inspired songs with R&B infused melodies.

Tori Kelly received a 2016 Grammy Award nominee for Best New Artist for her first album Unbreakable Smile, which included one track inspired for her love of Gospel music. Later, her manager,Scooter Braun, helped her connect with the 12-time Grammy Award-winning gospel artist Kirk Franklin. The two artist worked together to create the“hope-pop” album.

One of the things I want for this album is for people to feel uplifted and encouraged when they listen,” Kelly says. “I want them to know that, no matter what they’re going through, there’s a God who loves them so much and so unconditionally, and there’s always a reason to feel hope. That’s what I really believe in, and I want everyone out there to hear my heart.” 

The title of the album, Hiding Place, was inspired by from a line in one of Kelly's favorite psalms -
from a line in one of her favorite psalms - "You are a hiding place for me; you preserve me from trouble; you surround me with songs of deliverance."
Tori Kelly
That always stuck with me: this idea of God being a place of safety, a place where you can hide from all the crazy things that this world can throw at us,” she notes.

Though half the songs on the album were written by Franklin, there are a few that were co-written with Kelly, which marks the first Franklin has ever co-written a song with another artist.“It blew me away that she wanted us to co-write, because she’s a phenomenal songwriter and could’ve easily done it herself,” Franklin says. “I’ve worked with Mary J. Blige, Bono, Yolanda Adams, and I’ve never seen anyone that’s a monster behind the microphone like Tori Kelly. She’d nail one song in three takes, and all those takes were amazing. It set the bar higher for my whole career.

The opening-song "Masterpiece" features  the Houston-bred hip-hop artist Lecrae. The slow-burning single "Help Us To Love" features harmonies from The HamilTones ( the official background vocalists for Grammy Award-winner Anthony Hamilton.) "Just As Sure" features a
chart-topping gospel star Jonathan McReynolds. And Kirk Franklin's vocals are featured in the song "Never Alone."

The songs/tracks on the album include:
  • Masterpiece featuring Lecrae
  • Help Us To Love featuring The HamilTones
  • Sunday
  • Just As Sure featuring Jonathan McReynolds
  • Psalm 42
  • Questions
  • Never Alone featuring Kirk Franklin
  • Soul's Anthem (It Is Well)

Final Thoughts

While I was well aware of the singer Tori Kelly, I had never listened to any of her music until I had received her newest album "Hiding Place," so I didn't know what to expect from her. All I can say is "Wow!" She has a very powerful voice!

All eight songs are well-written with wonderful melodies to go along with them. Though the album is considered Christian, I wouldn't consider the songs too preachy, so it should appeal to most music lovers, believers or non-believers. The songs "Masterpiece" and "Help Us To Love" have a 90's vibe to them. My favorites from the album are "Psalm 42," "Questions," and "Never Alone."

Overall, I enjoyed listening to "Hiding Place." The only downside with the album is that there are only 8 songs. It would have been nice if there were at least 10 songs, but that's just me nitpicking. Nevertheless, "Hiding Place" is a great peacefully thinking album!

*Note -  I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review. 
All opinions are my own.


  1. I love Tori Kelly so much! She's an amazing singer! I still bop to her first album, "Unbreakable Smile", and her original EPs are great, as well. I've only listened to her latest single, "Never Alone" with Kirk Franklin, and it was worth every minute. I can't wait to hear the rest of her new music.

    1. I have enjoyed listening to "Hiding Places." All the songs on the album are great!


I adore reading reader feedback! I will, however, remove all spam and pointless comments.

Please take note that I have the right to delete comments from this site. Please only post constructive and respectful feedback.