Sunday, 14 September 2014

DVD Review - Castle: The Complete Sixth Season

Castle: The Complete Sixth Season
Starring: Nathan Fillion, Stana Katic, Seamus Dever, Jon Huertas, Tamala Jones, Molly Quinn, Susan Sullivan
Studio: ABC Studios
Release Date: September 16, 2014
Retail: $45.99
Running Time: 984 minutes
Rating: TV-14
Buy Link: Amazon


Arriving on DVD on Tuesday September 16, 2014 from ABC Studios is Castle: The Complete Sixth Season, featuring all 23 episodes. Bonus Features include: A Few of Our Favorite Things - Cast and crew reveal their favorite Castle moments of the past six seasons, including an unaired "Caskett" highlight from the Season 4 finale. Plus fan Favorites in every category; On Location With Stana - Stana Katic shares insights into her creative process and reflects on the character she portrays, in this intimate diary of a day on set during the season finale; Audio Commentaries - Including character commentary with Detectives Ryan and Esposito; Castle Karaoke - Detective Ryan gets his groove on in this never-before-seen extended karaoke performance; Bloopers and Deleted Scenes.

Season 6 further develops Richard Castle (played by Nathan Fillion) and Kate Beckett's (played by Stana Katic) romance with their engagement, despite the fact that Beckett accept a job working for the Attorney General's office in Washington D.C., well only for the the first three episodes of the season before she returns to her duties as a New York homicide detective.

Castle's daughter, Alexa (played by Moly Quinn), returns from her vacation overseas and she brings back a boyfriend, Pi, which Castle doesn't take the news very well, resulting in Alexa moving into her own apartment. Meanwhile, Castle's estranged father (played by guest-star Josh Brolin) returns, only to bring danger to his family. Beckett finally takes the down the man responsible for her mother's death. All of this leads to the shocking cliffhanger in "For Better or Worse," which will be resolved in the seventh season premiere on Monday September 29th!

The 23 episodes on the five-disc set are:

Disc 1
1. Valkyrie
2. Dreamworld
3. Need To Know
4. Number One Fan
5. Time Will Tell
 Disc 2
6.   Get A Clue
7.   Like Father, Like Daughter
8.   A Murder Is Forever
9.   Disciple
10. The Good, The Bad & The Baby
Disc 3
11. Under Fire
12. Deep Cover
13. Limelight
14. Dressed To Kill
15. Smells Like Teen Spirit

Disc 4
16. Room 147
17. In The Belly Of the Beast
18. The Way of The Ninja
19. The Greater Good
20. That '70s Show
Disc 5
21. Law and Boarder
22. Veritas
23. For Better or Worse

While most television series take a creative slack after the fifth season, Castle seems to be an exception, as the sixth season is one of its best. Though I do think a few fans were disappointed with the cliffhanger ending, it didn't bother me all. With all the crime-dramas on television, Castle is a breath of fresh with its upbeat humor. Overall, the episodes on Castle: The Complete Sixth Season are a blast to watch, as well as the special features.

*Disclaimer - I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

No comments:

Post a comment

I love comments from my readers! However, I will delete all spam and irrelevant comments.

*Note - I reserve the right to remove comments from the blog. Please leave comments that are useful and respectful.