Saturday, 7 May 2016

Top 5 Best Book Covers: May 2016

Top 5 Best Book Covers

The meme's rules are simple:

  • Grab the Top 5 Best Book Covers button!
  • Post your 5 favorite books covers that are being released in the current month!
  • You can use a blurb or book synopsis in your post.
  • Put your blog URL in the Linky. 
  • Visit other blogs and comment on their 5 picks


The Sorcerer's Daughter
by Terry Brooks
Pub. Date: May 23, 2016


Description: The mysterious, magic-wielding Druid order has existed for long ages, battling any evil that threatens the Four Lands—and struggling to be understood and accepted by outsiders. But their hopes of building goodwill are dashed when a demon’s murderous rampage at a peace summit leaves their political opponents dead—casting new suspicions upon the Druids and forcing them to flee from enemies both mortal and monstrous. 

Paxon Leah, the order’s appointed protector, knows that blame lies with Arcannen Rai, the vile sorcerer he has battled and defeated before. But there’s no time to hunt his nemesis, if he is to lead the wrongfully accused Druids to their sanctuary. It is a quest fraught with danger, as a furious government agent and his army snap at their heels, and lethal predators stalk them in the depths of the untamed wilderness. 

But Arcannen is playing a deeper game than Paxon realizes. Paxon’s sister possesses a powerful magic that the sorcerer longs to control—but Arcannen has not reckoned with the determination of his own estranged daughter, Leofur, who is also Paxon’s devoted lifemate. Leofur sets out on a perilous quest to thwart her father’s desires—while the vengeful Arcannen conjures his blackest magical skills, determined to destroy them all . . . and claim the most powerful of magics for his own.

Billy's Thoughts: I recently became interested in Terry Brooks novels after I got hooked on The Shannara Chronicles MTV series. The publishing company sent me an advanced ebook copy of this title. I'll be reading it soon.


Garfield Chickens Out
His 61st Book
by Jim Davis
Pub. Date: May 10, 2016


Description: Free-Range Fun Meister! 

Garfield’s always hatching a new plan to prank his poor owner. Whether he’s garnishing Jon’s soup with cat hair, putting a goldfish in his shoe (it was Jon’s birthday!), or hiding the car, Garfield rules the roost!

Billy's Thoughts: What can I say? I love Garfield!

The Crown's Game
by Evelyn Skye
Pub. Date: May 17, 2016



Description: Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and Red Queen, The Crown’s Game is a thrilling and atmospheric historical fantasy set in Imperial Russia about two teenagers who must compete for the right to become the Imperial Enchanter—or die in the process—from debut author Evelyn Skye. 

Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side. 

And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death. 

Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?

For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her. 

And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love . . . or be killed himself. 

As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear . . . the Crown’s Game is not one to lose.
  
Billy's Thoughts: At first glance, this looks like a new Game of Thrones sequel by George R.R. Martin, but sadly this is a completely different story by a different author. However, the cover does get my full attention.
Medical Judgment
by Richard L. Mabry M.D.
 Pub. Date: May 17, 2016


Description: Overview Someone is after Dr. Sarah Gordon. They’ve stalked her and set a fire at her home. Trying to recover from the traumatic deaths of her husband and infant daughter is tough enough, but she has no idea what will come next. Her late husband’s best friend and a recovering alcoholic detective are trying to solve the mystery before it’s too late, but both appear to be vying for her affection as well. Sarah finds herself in constant fear as the process plays out. 

As the threats on her life continue to escalate, so do the questions: Who is doing this? Why are they after her? And with her only help being unreliable suitors in competition with each other, whom can she really trust?

Billy's Thoughts: The cover is pretty simple, but you can clearly see it will be a mystery story. I just received an advanced copy of the book.

Demon Hunting With a Dixie Deb
 by Lexi George
Pub. Date: May 24, 2016


Description: Deep South legends. Deep fried curses. Deep dish revenge . . . 

This Debutante Is Having A Ball! 

Way down south in the land of cotton, one belle's plans are soon forgotten--when Sassy Peterson drives her Maserati off the road to avoid a deer and lands smack-dab in the proverbial creek without a paddle. The Alabama heiress should have known something weird was going on when she saw the deer's ginormous fangs. Hello, Predator Bambi! But nothing can prepare her for the leather-clad, muscle-bound, golden-eyed sex god who rescues her. Who wears leather in May? That's just the first of many questions Sassy has when her savior reveals he's a demon hunter named Grim. Also: Why would a troop of fairies want to give her magical powers and rainbow hair? Why would a style-challenged beast called the Howling Hag want to hunt her down? Most importantly, what's a nice debutante like Sassy doing in a place like this anyway? Besides feeling Grim . . .


Billy's Thoughts: While I'm no the biggest fan of pink, the pink letters on this cover really does pop out.


get the InLinkz code

1 comment:

  1. Nice covers :) I like The Crown's Game cover and it does give you a Game of Thrones feel.

    ReplyDelete

I love comments from my readers! However, I will delete all spam and irrelevant comments.

*Note - I reserve the right to remove comments from the blog. Please leave comments that are useful and respectful.