Saturday, 6 February 2016

Top 5 Best Book Covers: February 2016

Top 5 Best Book Covers

The meme's rules are simple:

  • Grab the Top 5 Best Book Covers button!
  • Post your 5 favorite books covers that are being released in the current month!
  • You can use a blurb or book synopsis in your post.
  • Put your blog URL in the Linky. 
  • Visit other blogs and comment on their 5 picks


Robert B. Parker's Blackjack
by Robert Knott
Pub. Date: February 2, 2016


Description: Appaloosa, the hometown of Territorial Marshals Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch, continues to prosper, but with prosperity comes a slew of new trouble: carpetbaggers, gamblers, migrants, peddlers, drifters, thieves, and whores, all boiling in a cauldron of excess and greed. And there’s a new menace in town: a wealthy, handsome easterner—and the owner of Appaloosa’s new casino—Boston Bill Black.

Boston Bill is flashy and bigger than life. He’s a prankster and a notorious womanizer, and with eight notches on the handle of his Colt, he’s rumored quick on the draw. When he finds himself wanted for a series of murders, he quickly vanishes. Cole and Hitch locate and arrest him, but Boston Bill escapes once again. Another murder sets the duo on his trail, eventually taking them back to Appaloosa—where one woman in particular may, or may not, prove to be the apple of Boston Bill’s eye.


Billy's Thoughts: The cover to the newest Cole and Hitch book is more a throwback to the old Maverick westerns. I received a review copy of the book a few days ago. I'll be reading it soon.


I'll See You in Paris
by Michelle Gable
Pub. Date: February 9, 2016


Description: Three women, born generations apart.

One mysterious book that threads their lives together. 

A journey of love, discovery, and truth… 

I’ll See You in Paris is based on the real life of Gladys Spencer-Churchill, the Duchess of Marlborough, a woman whose life was so rich and storied it could fill several books. Nearly a century after Gladys’s heyday, a young woman’s quest to understand the legendary Duchess takes her from a charming hamlet in the English countryside, to a dilapidated manse kept behind barbed wire, and ultimately, to Paris, where answers will be found at last. In the end, she not only solves the riddle of the Duchess but also uncovers the missing pieces in her own life.

At once a great love story and literary mystery, I’ll See You in Paris will entertain and delight, with an unexpected ending that will leave readers satisfied and eager for Gable’s next novel.

Billy's Thoughts: This is not my kind of book, but I like the book and the coffee mug on the cover.

The Shadow Queen
by C.J. Redwine
Pub. Date: February 16, 2016


Description: A dark epic fantasy inspired by the tale of Snow White, from C. J. Redwine, the author of the Defiance series. Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Cinder.

Lorelai Diederich, crown princess and fugitive at large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen who took both the Ravenspire throne and the life of her father. To do that, Lorelai needs to use the one weapon she and Queen Irina have in common—magic. She'll have to be stronger, faster, and more powerful than Irina, the most dangerous sorceress Ravenspire has ever seen.

In the neighboring kingdom of Eldr, when Prince Kol's father and older brother are killed by an invading army of magic-wielding ogres, the second-born prince is suddenly given the responsibility of saving his kingdom. To do that, Kol needs magic of his own—and the only way to get it is to make a deal with the queen of Ravenspire, promise to become her personal huntsman—and bring her Lorelai's heart.

But Lorelai is nothing like Kol expected—beautiful, fierce, and unstoppable—and despite dark magic, Lorelai is drawn in by the passionate and troubled king. Fighting to stay one step ahead of the dragon huntsman—who she likes far more than she should—Lorelai does everything in her power to ruin the wicked queen. But Irina isn't going down without a fight, and her final move may cost the princess the one thing she still has left to lose.

Once a normal city possessing a touch of ancient magic, Dublin is now a treacherously magical city with only a touch of normal. And on those war-torn streets, Mac will come face-to-face with her most savage enemy yet: herself.
  
Billy's Thoughts: All we need is another Snow White remake, which has been done to death. Though the premise here does sounds interesting and I do like the cover art.

Goosebumps Most Wanted: Here Comes The Shaggedy
by R.L. Stine
 Pub. Date: February 23, 2016


Description: Overview The infamous, Most Wanted Goosebumps characters are out on the loose and after you..

Kelli and Shawn Anderson are not excited about having to move to another state - especially because their new home is directly next to a giant swamp. But their dad is a scientist and he's going down there to study the local flora and fauna.

Unfortunately for Kelli and Shawn, there seem to be some very strange creatures that live around their house. They keep hearing about the legend of the Shaggedy, an ancient beast that lives far below the surface of the swamp and can cause a whole lot of damage. Can Kelli and Shawn convince their dad to move back home before it is too late?

Billy's Thoughts: I'm a big Goosebumps fan and the cover art to the newest release looks freaky.

Charmed
Fairy Tale Reform School
(book 2)
by Jen Calonita
Pub. Date: March 1, 2016


Description:Charmed is the exciting sequel to the wildly popular Flunked — second in the brand new Fairy Tale Reform School series where the teachers are (former) villains. "Charming fairy-tale fun." —Sarah Mlynowski, author of the New York Times bestselling Whatever After series.

It takes a (mostly) reformed thief to catch a spy. Which is why Gilly Cobbler, Enchantasia's most notorious pickpocket, volunteers to stay locked up at Fairy Tale Reform School...indefinitely. Gilly and her friends may have defeated the Evil Queen and become reluctant heroes, but the battle for Enchantasia has just begun. 

Alva, aka The Wicked One who cursed Sleeping Beauty, has declared war on the Princesses, and she wants the students of Fairy Tale Reform School to join her. As her criminal classmates give in to temptation, Gilly goes undercover as a Royal Lady in Waiting (don't laugh) to unmask a spy...before the mole can hand Alva the keys to the kingdom. 

Her parents think Gilly the Hero is completely reformed, but sometimes you have to get your hands dirty. Sometimes it's good to be bad...


Billy's Thoughts: This is the first that I'm hearing about the series. The plot of a Fairy Tale Reform School would make a great television series on the Disney Channel. The cover art looks great.


get the InLinkz code

1 comment:

  1. All of these sound really great, especially The Shadow Queen and Charmed. I'm going to add them to my TBR on Goodreads.

    ReplyDelete

I love comments from my readers! However, I will delete all spam and irrelevant comments.

*Note - I reserve the right to remove comments from the blog. Please leave comments that are useful and respectful.